69.9 F
Columbus
Thursday, June 4, 2020
Board Game Reviews Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try...

Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game – Nice Try Games – Review

-

- Advertisment -Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 30

Nice Try is a great family and party game. It will lead to many laughs and memories. It can be a great way to break the ice or it will work well with an established game group.

Ben

MeepleGamers

7.5/10
Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 1

Theme and What is it?

Compete against your family and friends in quick, high energy challenges. These challenges feature situations where players will use their minds, bodies and dexterity to earn points. Can you earn the respect of your rivals or will you have to shamefully and grudgingly admit that they bested you…this time?

Nice Try is a dexterity-based party game for 4-8 players.

Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 2 Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 3

Gameplay Mechanics

7.5/10

Nice Try is played over 8 rounds. Each round, players will have to face challenges. There are a few challenge types. 

Dexterity challenges require players to use their body, mind and dexterity. When this challenge is presented, a player bids how many reps they can complete within the time limit or they can pass. If they complete their bid, they are awarded points. If they cannot they lose points. Everyone has the chance to earn or lose points.

Last Man Standing is a challenge that players either choose to take part in or pass. The last man standing gets points, the losers lose points.

High Score is where each player gets five chances. Players score points on the number of successful attempts out of the five. 

One Shot is just that. Players get one shot to complete the challenge. If they are successful, they get points. If not, they lose points. 

At the end of eight rounds the player with the highest score wins!

Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 4

Initial Impressions

7.5/10

Nice Try was tons of fun. The challenges are fast and every player has a chance to take part in each one. Be prepared to laugh as you watch others make outrageous bids and realize it after they start the challenge. 

In one challenge we had to stack pennies on the end of a spoon that we were holding. My son bid 40. He realized his mistake after about four!

We all had a great time and really enjoyed playing the game together. It was the highlight of a cold Sunday afternoon.

Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 5

Nice Try has very few components. It is the box, the directions sheet, score sheet and the cards. All are up to industry standard. All of the items that you will use for challenges come from household items. Each challenge card tells you what you need to do the activity.

Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 6

There is very little art except for the cover and the image in the corner of the challenge cards. This leaves the cards open and they look very clean. It all has a nice modern feel.

Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 7

Fun Factor

7.5/10

The best part of Nice Try is competing in the challenges. They are fast paced and tough. Many of them are Minute-To-Win-It type games, using easily accessible things from around the house. The competition is fun and can bring lots of laughs. 

I do not want to go into too much detail about the challenges. I want you to discover those for yourself. 

That is another great part of the game. Flipping over the card and reading it and watching everyone process what their bids will be. Some people know that they will do bad so they bid way too low, while others are over confident and crash and burn from their hubris.

Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 8

Age Range & Weight

10/10

There is a 12+ age recommendation for Nice Try. I played it with my 8 and 11-year-olds. They loved it. My 8-year-old was not very good at bidding but that was hilarious and they didn’t care that they were doing terrible. It was just fun and we were able to spend time together. I don’t think any of us cared about the outcome.

Everyone can have fun and enjoy Nice Try. It is made to bring people together and it does a great job at that.

Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 9

Conclusions

10/10

Nice Try is a great family and party game. It will lead to many laughs and memories. It can be a great way to break the ice or it will work well with an established game group. If players will allow themselves to loosen up and have a good time then Nice Try is a wonderful game that is built to provide some much-needed social interactions. 

Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 10

Nice Try is a great family and party game. It will lead to many laughs and memories. It can be a great way to break the ice or it will work well with an established game group.

Ben

MeepleGamers

7.5/10
Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 15

Theme and What is it?

Compete against your family and friends in quick, high energy challenges. These challenges feature situations where players will use their minds, bodies and dexterity to earn points. Can you earn the respect of your rivals or will you have to shamefully and grudgingly admit that they bested you…this time?

Nice Try is a dexterity-based party game for 4-8 players.

Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 16 Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 17

Gameplay Mechanics

7.5/10

Nice Try is played over 8 rounds. Each round, players will have to face challenges. There are a few challenge types. 

Dexterity challenges require players to use their body, mind and dexterity. When this challenge is presented, a player bids how many reps they can complete within the time limit or they can pass. If they complete their bid, they are awarded points. If they cannot they lose points. Everyone has the chance to earn or lose points.

Last Man Standing is a challenge that players either choose to take part in or pass. The last man standing gets points, the losers lose points.

High Score is where each player gets five chances. Players score points on the number of successful attempts out of the five. 

One Shot is just that. Players get one shot to complete the challenge. If they are successful, they get points. If not, they lose points. 

At the end of eight rounds the player with the highest score wins!

Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 18

Initial Impressions

7.5/10

Nice Try was tons of fun. The challenges are fast and every player has a chance to take part in each one. Be prepared to laugh as you watch others make outrageous bids and realize it after they start the challenge. 

In one challenge we had to stack pennies on the end of a spoon that we were holding. My son bid 40. He realized his mistake after about four!

We all had a great time and really enjoyed playing the game together. It was the highlight of a cold Sunday afternoon.

Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 19

Nice Try has very few components. It is the box, the directions sheet, score sheet and the cards. All are up to industry standard. All of the items that you will use for challenges come from household items. Each challenge card tells you what you need to do the activity.

Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 20

There is very little art except for the cover and the image in the corner of the challenge cards. This leaves the cards open and they look very clean. It all has a nice modern feel.

Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 21

Fun Factor

7.5/10

The best part of Nice Try is competing in the challenges. They are fast paced and tough. Many of them are Minute-To-Win-It type games, using easily accessible things from around the house. The competition is fun and can bring lots of laughs. 

I do not want to go into too much detail about the challenges. I want you to discover those for yourself. 

That is another great part of the game. Flipping over the card and reading it and watching everyone process what their bids will be. Some people know that they will do bad so they bid way too low, while others are over confident and crash and burn from their hubris.

Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 22

Age Range & Weight

10/10

There is a 12+ age recommendation for Nice Try. I played it with my 8 and 11-year-olds. They loved it. My 8-year-old was not very good at bidding but that was hilarious and they didn’t care that they were doing terrible. It was just fun and we were able to spend time together. I don’t think any of us cared about the outcome.

Everyone can have fun and enjoy Nice Try. It is made to bring people together and it does a great job at that.

Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 23

Conclusions

10/10

Nice Try is a great family and party game. It will lead to many laughs and memories. It can be a great way to break the ice or it will work well with an established game group. If players will allow themselves to loosen up and have a good time then Nice Try is a wonderful game that is built to provide some much-needed social interactions. 

Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 24
Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 29
Ben Parker
Ben started playing Magic The Gathering in 1994. Over the years he developed a new appreciation for table top gaming after wanting to find a way to spend more time with his kids. He now has a serious board game addiction. When he is not gaming he makes money by doing product development and marketing for a guitar company.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Latest news

Top 10 Games to Play when Stuck at Home

.ugb-11e1589 .ugb-blockquote__quote{width:70px !important;height:70px !important}

Fantasy Pug Quest – Tin Hat Games – Review

PublisherDesignerArtistGame TypeDatesAge RangePlaytimePlaycount Tin...
- Advertisement -Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 32Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 33

Spies and Lies: A Stratego Story – Jumbo – Review

Spies and Lies: A Stratego Story is a nice little 2 player game.

Maximum Apocalypse RPG – Rock Manor Games – Preview

Facebook Twitter Instagram The real strength of this game is the systems used for character and world creation. Steve...

Must read

Top 10 Games to Play when Stuck at Home

.ugb-11e1589 .ugb-blockquote__quote{width:70px...

Top 10 Player Pawns

One of those rare moments where we put on...
- Advertisement -Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 34Nice Try: The Challenge Part Game - Nice Try Games - Review 32

You might also likeRELATED
Recommended to you