We Need To Talk – Smirk and Laughter Games – Review

We Need To Talk - Smirk and Laughter Games - Review 1

I think that We Need To Talk has really great potential to win over party game fanatics.

Ben

MeepleGamers

7.5/10
We Need To Talk - Smirk and Laughter Games - Review 108

Theme and What is it?

7.5/10

I need to start out by saying that I make light of the intervention process in this review. It is only satirical and used as a literary device. I fully understand that real interventions have saved countless lives and many who have taken part in these interventions have had life changing experiences. Please don’t let my sense of humor take away from that. With that being said…read on…

Who doesn’t love a good intervention? 

Bring an unsuspecting individual, that you love, into a room full of people, who only want the best for them, and then lay it all out there. Let that person know how they are hurting themselves and others, and that they are better than this. The subject of the intervention is taken aback and totally disoriented. Eventually they come to terms that they need help. It’s all so magical. Now you can do this whenever you want with Smirk and Laughters’ new party game, We Need To Talk. 

We Need To Talk is a party game for 4-8 players where each player gets to participate in their own intervention and try to figure out why their loved ones are so concerned for them.

We Need To Talk - Smirk and Laughter Games - Review 109 We Need To Talk - Smirk and Laughter Games - Review 110

Gameplay Mechanics

7.5/10

Each player takes a turn being the person receiving the intervention. They draw a card and, without looking at it, they show it to all other players  These players then act as the concerned friends and family. The card will have some silly, made up problem. Uncontrollable interpretive dancing is the example used to teach players the game.

The concerned loved ones give clues about the problem. The clues are given over the course of three rounds. Each round allows the clues to have more detail. The sooner the person receiving the intervention can guess their problem, the more points they will earn. The longer the concerned loved ones take, the more points they will score. If the player is not able to guess their problem by the end of round three, then no points are awarded to anyone. This makes the players giving the clues responsible for providing hints that are not too easy to figure out.

We Need To Talk - Smirk and Laughter Games - Review 111

Initial Impressions

7.5/10

The game was easy to learn. I read the rules while everyone was gathering at the table. I taught it in about two minutes. 

The first two rounds were very rough. The problem cards have some very specific phrases on them and people were having a very tough time trying to give clues. Plus, people were making the clues way harder than they needed to be. Neither players guessed the correct answer so I stopped the game and told people to work on their clues. The goal is for the player showing the card to actually guess the right problem. I also told everyone to loosen up and enjoy the game. It was dead quiet because everyone was thinking about their next clue.

It eventually got way better and people started having fun. In the beginning, I was worried because it seemed like no one was having any fun. I said it was a party game and you just go with the flow and say crazy stuff. By the end we were all laughing and having a good time.

We Need To Talk - Smirk and Laughter Games - Review 112

Game Build Quality

7.5/10

There are not too many components for We Need To Talk. The box, some cardboard tokens for scoring and cards. Lots and lots of cards. That is one very nice thing about this game. You can play for hours and never run out of cards. I mean like hours and hours. 

Cards, box and tokens are all industry standard.

We Need To Talk - Smirk and Laughter Games - Review 113

Artistic Direction

7.5/10

The only art is found on the cover. The cards have some graphic design work on them. There is not too much to report on here.

We Need To Talk - Smirk and Laughter Games - Review 114

Fun Factor

7.5/10

We Need To Talk runs up against one of the major issues all party games have. How fun the game is will depend upon the group that is there playing it. Although my group had a few bad rounds, everyone finally loosened up and had fun with the game. After we finished, everyone asked me to bring the game for the next game night to play again.

What makes We Need To Talk fun are the ridiculous problems for which clues need to be given. Some of them are very challenging and you have to get creative. It is fun to hear what people guess based on the hints given. They can be way off and that always gets a laugh.

We Need To Talk - Smirk and Laughter Games - Review 115

Age Range & Weight

7.5/10

The age recommendation is 14+. I played this game with a couple of 10-year-olds. They fit right in and enjoyed themselves, but their clues were sometimes lacking in substance. I think they were trying too hard to give a really good clue without giving anything away.

I also played with my parents. They had a ton of fun. They did great once they understood how to play. I can see this game working well for a huge age range. And it really gets the brain juices flowing, which is always positive.

We Need To Talk - Smirk and Laughter Games - Review 116

Conclusions

7.5/10

I think that We Need To Talk has really great potential to win over party game fanatics. It is very important to get the right people together to really maximize its potential. Also, you may want to make sure that no one has gone through a real intervention. It may be tough on them to rehash that experience. 

This game works well with new board gamers and experienced ones. It allows everyone to connect and laugh. Once people are comfortable with the format there should be plenty of both. If you are needing a new party game with a twist then you will want to check out, We Need To Talk.